Maybe I’m over-reacting?

My nephew Joe has several milestones this year: he graduated from Edgewood in Police Science, and an intensive 13 week certification so he can be hired. Wisconsin has a mandatory class that must be completed before a graduate can be hired as a police officer. On Friday December 13 he successfully completed this intensive course! Congratulations Joe!

But I couldn’t help but get the feeling that I was being monitored. Was I overreacting? Or was this normal because of being in the same room with many officers? Or a little of both? Many of us have seen Sheriff Mahoney on TV before. Maybe I was nervous because he was there?

I don’t like being nervous! And no matter how I tried, I felt fearful when I was too near the Capitol when the protest filled the square with thousands of people. I basically thought “I’m getting out of here!” And I was several blocks away, walking.

The two events aren’t the same, but they share the same emotion: nervous. How do you adapt when you are nervous? How do you quiet that little voice that says you shouldn’t be there? Or maybe this is normal for everyone who is human.

I hope you will share your opinions with me.

About akutil86

Diagnosed with Aspergers at 34, this blog chronicles some of the life events I've gone through, and how I hope to help others on the Autism Spectrum. Posts that are personal opinions will be moving to another Wordpress site by the end of the year; for those looking for help with autism, I hope you will continue to visit and spread the word about the articles that most of the time are links to something I read. Please let me know what challenges you are facing, and I will do my best to address them. Thanks for reading my blog!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe I’m over-reacting?

  1. Becky says:

    Many people are fearful of large noisy groups. We see so often on TV large groups that can get out of hand and people get hurt. Fear can be a good thing in being a protective service for yourself. The same can be said of sitting with Police Officers. Most often our personal contact with Police is because of a tragic event or we have violated some sort of driving law. However, there are degrees of nervousness to pay attention too. If your nervousness is a fluttery stomach, that is fairly normal. If your nervousness causes you to hyperventilate and paralyzes you from moving to a safe place when you have not been directly threatened, then I would think this is an over reaction.
    If your nervousness is caused by too much sensory input of a large crowd this can be a symptom of Autism (and also other disabling diagnoses ) . If this is the case, many people developed strategies to cope or some a type of exit plan to get out of the situation.
    There is no “one answer” to having a fearful reaction to our environment. The question is how disabling is your fear when this happens and how well do you cope with it.

Leave a Reply

